APMG vs Prosci vs CCMP: Which Certification Fits You in 2026?

Compare APMG, Prosci and CCMP change management certifications on approach, eligibility, exam, cost and renewal, then choose the one that fits your role.

APMG vs Prosci vs CCMP: Which Certification Fits You in 2026?

APMG vs Prosci vs CCMP: Which Change Management Certification Fits You?

Choose APMG if you want a broad, flexible toolkit and a staged Foundation and Practitioner exam route. Choose Prosci if you want one structured method, ADKAR, with templates you can use straight away. Choose CCMP if you already have at least three years of change experience and want an independent credential from ACMP.

Each of these change management certifications suits a different person. This guide compares them on approach, eligibility, exam format, cost, renewal and recognition. Facts were checked against APMG, Prosci and ACMP sources in September 2026.

What Are APMG, Prosci, and CCMP?

APMG and Prosci are training-based routes. CCMP is an experience-based credential that also requires training. That difference shapes the rest of this comparison.

What Is the APMG Change Management Certification?

The APMG Change Management certification is a two-level qualification, Foundation and Practitioner, developed by APMG International with the Change Management Institute (CMI). It is based on the CMI's Change Management Body of Knowledge. APMG's own comparison article says the exams cover selected elements of that body of knowledge and that the certification does not prescribe one methodology.

Foundation suits people who take part in change projects. Practitioner suits people who manage change. APMG says a typical course runs 3 days for Foundation and 2 days for Practitioner.

You can study in a virtual classroom, in person, through self-paced eLearning or by self-study. APMG reports more than 100.000 exams sat in over 95 countries. It also describes the qualifications as a pathway to accreditation by CMI.

What Is Prosci Certification and the ADKAR Model?

Prosci certification is a workshop-based program that teaches the Prosci methodology. It awards the Prosci Certified Change Practitioner credential. The methodology centers on the ADKAR model, which stands for Awareness, Desire, Knowledge, Ability and Reinforcement. It also includes the Prosci 3-Phase Process: prepare approach, manage change and sustain outcomes.

Prosci's program page describes a 3-day intensive, delivered online or in person, and lists the duration as 3 to 5 days. Participants apply the method to a real project and build a change management plan. Course materials include a one-year subscription to Prosci's Research Hub, Knowledge Hub and Proxima tools.

Prosci states that more than 267,000 people have been certified. That figure is Prosci's own claim.

What Is the CCMP Certification?

CCMP stands for Certified Change Management Professional. It is issued by the Association of Change Management Professionals (ACMP) and is based on the ACMP Standard for Change Management. ACMP intends it for experienced practitioners of change, whatever their job title.

You apply first, then sit the exam. The application asks you to describe your experience. ACMP audits a random subset of applications by requesting degrees and employer attestations. Applications and the exam are available in English only.

APMG vs. Prosci vs. CCMP: See The Comparison Table

APMG Change ManagementProsciCCMP
Issued byAPMG International, developed with CMIProsciACMP
BasisCMI Change Management Body of KnowledgeProsci methodology (ADKAR, 3-Phase Process)ACMP Standard for Change Management
ApproachToolkit of models, no single prescribed methodOne structured methodology with templatesStandard covering all change management activities
PrerequisitesNone for Foundation. Foundation must be passed before PractitionerNone listed on the program pageDegree plus 4.200 hours, or secondary education plus 7.000 hours, plus 21 hours of training
AssessmentFoundation: 50 multiple-choice questions, 40 minutes. Practitioner: case-study exam, 2.5 hoursWorkshop with knowledge checks and a final presentationApplication review plus an exam reported as 150 multiple-choice questions
DeliveryVirtual classroom, in person or eLearning through accredited providers, or self-study3-day intensive, online or in personOnline or test-center exam, with self-paced or live training
Listed costSet by the provider. AVC lists 1.650,00 EUR for the eLearning Foundation and Practitioner package4,500 USD online, 4,850 USD in personDepends on ACMP membership status, plus training costs
RenewalFoundation does not expire. Practitioner "Registered" status lasts 5 yearsNot stated on the program page60 professional development units every 3 years
Best forBreadth, flexibility, public sector and consultingA ready method in large corporate settingsExperienced practitioners who can document their hours

How Do APMG, Prosci, and CCMP Differ?

Methodology or Body of Knowledge

APMG teaches a broad set of models. According to APMG's own comparison article, that flexibility suits practitioners who like to combine approaches. The same article says newcomers may find the lack of a fixed process daunting and that standard templates are not usually supplied.

Prosci teaches one methodology with templates and tools. APMG's article notes that many organizations like ADKAR's simplicity and its fit with project stage gates. Invensis Learning describes Prosci as methodology-first and APMG as knowledge-first. Prosci says its methodology rests on more than 25 years of research.

CCMP is built around the ACMP Standard instead of a single model. ACMP says applicants must have applied all elements of the Standard in their experience. It adds that experience focused on one function, such as communications or training, is unlikely to be enough.

Eligibility and Prerequisites

APMG Foundation has no prerequisites. You must pass Foundation before you can sit Practitioner. Prosci's program page lists no entry requirements.

CCMP has the strictest entry rules. ACMP requires one of these combinations of education and experience:

  • A 4-year degree (or international equivalent) and 4.200 hours (3 years) of change management experience.
  • Secondary education (or international equivalent) and 7.000 hours (5 years) of change management experience.

ACMP also requires 21 hours of change management training in a program aligned with its Standard, completed within the past 7 years. Self-paced, blended and live training all qualify. Your hours can fall within any time frame, and the 3-year and 5-year marks are guidance.

Learning and Exam Format

APMG uses two exams:

  • Foundation: 50 multiple-choice questions in 40 minutes, closed book. The pass mark is 25 of 50.
  • Practitioner: a case-study exam with 5 sections of 16 points each, lasting 2.5 hours. It is limited open book, using the APMG Study Guide. The pass mark is 40 of 80. If you already hold Foundation, a stand-alone Practitioner eLearning course lets you prepare for this case-study exam at your own pace.

APMG exams are available in English, French, German, Polish, Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese.

Prosci awards its credential through a live workshop. The program page describes knowledge checks, a final presentation and a digital badge on completion.

CCMP candidates sit an exam that is reported as 150 multiple-choice questions, closed book. It can be taken online or at a Kryterion test center. After ACMP approves your application, you have one year to take the exam, and you can attempt it up to three times in total.

Cost and Time Commitment

Prosci lists 4.500 USD for its online program and 4.850 USD for in-person delivery. APMG prices are set by each accredited training provider. Adding Value Consulting (AVC) lists 1.650,00 EUR for its eLearning Foundation and Practitioner package with both exam vouchers, and 3.250,00 EUR for the live classroom version. Invensis Learning lists 2,895 USD for an instructor-led virtual Foundation and Practitioner course.

APMG's own article says its courses cost about half as much as Prosci's. Compare providers in the same currency and check what each price includes, such as exam vouchers and length of access. CCMP fees depend on ACMP membership, and the 21 hours of required training adds to the total. ACMP publishes its current fees on its website.

For time, AVC lists 15 hours for each APMG eLearning level and 30 hours for the combined package. Prosci takes 3 to 5 days. CCMP depends on how quickly you can document your experience and prepare for the exam.

Recognition by Region and Industry

According to Invensis Learning, Prosci is strongest in corporate and multinational settings, especially in North America. Invensis says APMG is better recognized in Europe, Asia-Pacific and the public sector. APMG's own author says ADKAR is particularly popular in the United States and in large multinationals. ACMP presents CCMP as a globally recognized credential.

These are views from organizations that publish or sell the certifications. Check local demand yourself. Read 5 to 10 job ads in your target market and note which credential they name.

Which Change Management Certification Fits You?

Start With Your Goal, Confidence Level, and Local Demand

Try answering these three questions to help guide your decision:

  1. Goal: Are you building a career in change, adding people-side skills to a project role, or proving experience you already have?
  2. Confidence: Do you want a ready method to start with, or are you comfortable choosing and adapting tools yourself?
  3. Demand: Which credential do employers in your industry and country ask for?

If you need a case to take to your manager, we guide to why change management training matters sets out the benefits.

So Which One Should I Choose?

Choose APMG If...

  • You want breadth across change theory, stakeholder engagement and communication.
  • You work as a consultant, project manager or programme manager across several industries.
  • You work in the public sector or in governance-heavy organizations, where Invensis says APMG is well recognized.
  • You prefer a staged route, with Foundation first and Practitioner after. Some learners like an instructor for this, and our virtual classroom option covers both levels in 5 days.
  • You want a lower listed course cost than a proprietary method course.

Choose Prosci If...

  • You want one structured method and templates you can apply in the first week.
  • You work inside a large corporate or multinational, where Invensis says Prosci is often named in job descriptions.
  • Your projects have fixed go-live dates, which both reference articles say ADKAR handles well.
  • You are early or mid-career and want confidence and tools quickly.

One caution comes from APMG's author. He argues that applying a linear process to people can trigger resistance when milestones are fixed. Weigh that view against Prosci's research claims.

Choose CCMP If...

  • You have at least 3 years of change management experience with a degree, or 5 years without one.
  • You want an independent credential tied to the ACMP Standard.
  • You can document your hours and describe your experience across all areas of the Standard.
  • You are comfortable with an English-only application and exam, and with renewing every three years.

Can You Hold More Than One Certification?

Yes, and many practitioners do. The order varies. APMG's author reports that most practitioners he spoke to took APMG first and added Prosci later. Invensis Learning describes the reverse pattern, with Prosci first for operational confidence and APMG later for breadth.

If CCMP is your goal, note that Prosci's program page lists ACMP Qualified Education Provider (QEP) credits. That may help with CCMP's 21-hour training requirement. Confirm with ACMP that a specific course qualifies before you enroll.

Where to Train for the APMG Change Management Certification?

APMG certifications are delivered through Accredited Training Organizations. We appear on APMG's list of accredited training organizations.

Foundation, Practitioner, or Both?

Most newcomers take both levels together, because the Foundation must be passed first. Taking them as one package also means one booking and one set of exam vouchers. If you would rather split the cost, take Foundation first and Practitioner later.

eLearning or Live Virtual Classroom?

eLearning suits people who study around a full-time job. A live classroom suits people who want an instructor and a fixed schedule. The prices and hours for every option are in the cost section above. If you are unsure which format matches your schedule, you can book a free consultation with us and talk it through, or browse the full list of our change management courses.

Next Courses

Change work rarely sits alone. Most people pair it with project or programme skills, which is why the role table above points to PRINCE2, MSP and Facilitation. If you are weighing PRINCE2 against PMP, our post on PRINCE2 vs PMP compares the two.

Learn More

Is the APMG Change Management certification worth it?

It is worth it if you want a broad qualification in change theory and tools with a staged exam route. APMG reports that 98% of learners it surveyed say the training made them better at managing change. That is APMG's own survey, so also check which credential employers in your market ask for.

Is Prosci better than APMG?

Neither is better in general. Prosci gives you one structured method with templates. APMG gives you a broader body of knowledge with a Foundation and Practitioner exam route. Both reference articles reviewed for this guide reach the same conclusion: the right choice depends on your goal, your experience and local demand.

What is the difference between CCMP and Prosci?

CCMP is a credential from ACMP that requires documented experience, 21 hours of aligned training and an exam. Prosci certification is a training program that teaches the ADKAR-based Prosci methodology, and its program page lists no experience requirement. CCMP verifies what you have done, and Prosci teaches you a method.

Do I need work experience for CCMP?

Yes. ACMP requires a 4-year degree and 4,200 hours (3 years) of change management experience, or secondary education and 7,000 hours (5 years). You also need 21 hours of training aligned with the ACMP Standard within the past 7 years.

How long do these certifications stay valid?

The APMG Foundation certification does not expire. APMG Practitioners hold "Registered" status for 5 years and must pass a re-registration exam between year 3 and year 5 to keep it. CCMP holders must earn 60 professional development units every three years, according to ACMP's FAQ. Prosci's program page does not state an expiry, so confirm with Prosci.

Sources

You also could like

Is Cybersecurity Hard Without a Degree or IT Background?

28 Oct, 2026

Is Cybersecurity Hard Without a Degree or IT Background?

Cybersecurity is challenging without a degree or IT background, but it is learnable. See what is hard, what to learn first, and a step-by-step path in.
PMP vs PMI-ACP for Beginners: Key Differences

27 Oct, 2026

PMP vs PMI-ACP for Beginners: Key Differences

PMP and PMI-ACP compared for beginners: eligibility, exam format, and which to take first. Includes the CAPM route if you have no experience.
Which Cybersecurity Certification Is Right for You? CEH, CISA, CISM, CISSP or CCSP

01 Oct, 2026

Which Cybersecurity Certification Is Right for You? CEH, CISA, CISM, CISSP or CCSP

Not sure which cybersecurity certification to choose? Compare CEH, CISA, CISM, CISSP and CCSP by role, experience and career goal, and find a beginner-friendly starting point with AVC's cybersecurity training.
ITIL 5 Training and Certification: What's New in ITIL Version 5?

16 Sep, 2026

ITIL 5 Training and Certification: What's New in ITIL Version 5?

ITIL Version 5 goes beyond traditional IT service management to cover digital products, platforms and services in one lifecycle, with AI built in from the start. Discover what's new, how the ITIL 5 certification pathway works, and which ITIL 5 training course fits your role.